Ranked #1 Program in the nation
Check fraud is an $8 billion a year problem in the United States, and the passing of bad checks is a very serious problem in Pima County. Even careful merchants get a bad check once in a while. If you can't collect on a check, the County Attorney’s Office stands ready to help. The Pima County Attorney's Office Bad Check Program is ranked first in the nation. Since its inception in 1996, the program has returned more than $12 million to victims.

The Pima County Attorney’s Office joined with local law enforcement agencies and many local business people in 1996 to establish Pima County’s Bad Check Program. The program is designed to help reimburse individuals or merchants for the losses they incur from accepting bad checks. If you are a Pima County merchant and would like the support of the Bad Check Program, please view the Bad Check Guidebook. You may also request a FREE Bad Check sign to place in your business by calling our office.

This program is available FREE of charge to any individual or merchant in Pima County. We will collect from the offender the face value of the check plus a $25 victim fee for each check submitted. By working together, we can make a difference for Pima County.

A few helpful tips when accepting a check:
  • Look at the check, be suspicious of checks that have low numbers.
  • The check must be dated the day you receive it.
  • DO NOT accept pre-signed checks.
  • Look for changes or additions to the name of the payee.
  • Always demand identification.
  • Make sure the check writer DOES NOT write his or her driver's license number or other information on the check. You should write this information.
  • If you have doubts about a check, don't accept it. You are not required by law to accept checks.
If You Receive a Bad Check
If you receive a bad check, you are first required to notify the check writer and request reimbursement for the entire amount. If you do not receive full payment within 17 days, the check may be submitted to the program. For instructions on how to submit a check for prosecution and restitution, visit our Resource Center. There you will find our Bad Check Guidebook and supporting documents to help you through every step of the process.
Pima County Attorney's Bad Check Program
If you would like to request a sign for your business please call (520) 740-4100
Resource Center
Contact
Bad Check
32 N Stone Avenue
Tucson, Arizona 85701
(520) 740-4100
(520) 882-5966 Fax

Mailing Address
Pima County Attorney's Office
Bad Check Program
P.O. Box 111
Tucson, Arizona 85702

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
8 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
32 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, Arizona 85701