Victims of the January 8, 2011 Tucson Tragedy
The Pima County Attorney’s Office seeks to ensure that victims, witnesses, family and community members who were impacted by the mass shooting on Saturday, January 8th have access to information and resources to help them deal with their stress and trauma.
Click here for a printable resource list.

To learn more about all January 8th anniversary events,click here.

Effects of Crisis

Crisis is a normal reaction to abnormal situations and stressors. Whether it is the result of a crime, major incident, or one of life's many challenges, everyone experiences crisis reactions at one time or another. People experience crisis in response to an unexpected traumatic life event that temporarily overwhelms their normal ways of coping. The horrific crime that occurred on January 8th is precisely the type of event that would be expected to produce a crisis response in many people, including the victims, witnesses, family members, and loved ones, and even general members of the community.
Victim Services Resources
Victim Compensation


After an assault
Remember, as victim of assault, you are not alone. The Pima County Attorney's Victim Services Division has Victim Advocates, who are there to help you by providing assistance, information, services, and referrals. Victim Advocates also can help you find out about crime victim rights in Arizona.

If the assault involved an injury or threat of injury, you may be eligible for reimbursement by Arizona's Crime Victim Compensation program for certain out-of-pocket expenses, such as medical or counseling expenses and lost wages. To be eligible for these funds, you must report the assault to the police within 72 hours and cooperate with the criminal justice system. The Pima County Attorney's Office Victim Services Division can provide compensation applications and additional information.

Whether you have been assaulted by a stranger or someone you know, the best way to ensure your safety is to report the incident to local law enforcement immediately.


After a robbery
Remember, as a robbery victim, you are not alone. Your community has victim assistance programs, caring professionals, and support groups -all of which are there to help you with information, services, and referrals. If the robbery involved an injury or threat of injury, you may be eligible for reimbursement by the Crime Victim Compensation program for certain out-of-pocket expenses that are related to the robbery, such as medical or counseling expenses and lost wages. To be eligible for these funds, you must report the robbery to the police within 72 hours and cooperate with the criminal justice system. Victim Witness Advocates can help you determine your eligibility and fill out compensation applications.

Remember, it is important to keep a record of expenses incurred as a result of the robbery. If the offender is arrested and convicted, you may request restitution by completing a restitution affidavit and listing your losses. Restitution for certain losses may be ordered by a judge as part of the sentence imposed on the offender. However, in many cases, the defendant may not have sufficient assets or income to pay restitution. It is possible that even if an offender is convicted and ordered to pay restitution, a victim may receive no, or only partial, restitution for his or her losses.

No one has the right to commit a robbery against a person regardless of the circumstances.


Domestic violence

If you are a survivor of a D.U.I.
The Pima County Attorney's Office has Victim Advocates who can provide you with information and a full range of victim support services, such as assistance through the criminal justice process. Victim Services Advocates are trained professionals who can help you find out about crime victim's rights in Arizona.

When a loved one has been injured or killed, the financial impact can be a second victimization. The costs of medical care, travel, phone bills, counseling, lost wages, and funerals can be overwhelming. Arizona has a Crime Victim Compensation [link to page] program that may reimburse victims' families for certain out-of-pocket expenses, including funeral expenses, medical expenses, lost wages, and other financial needs considered reasonable. Arizona's victim compensation program also covers mental health counseling for survivors of someone killed. To be eligible for compensation, the crime must be reported to the police within 72 hours and the victim and victim's family must cooperate with the criminal justice system. The Pima County Attorney's Victim Services Program can provide you with compensation applications and additional information.


Elder abuse

Experiencing grief

How to help someone in crisis
Unless there is a physical injury, have the person in crisis drink room temperature water. The body quickly dehydrates during a crisis due to crying, perspiration, and chemical reactions inside the body. Cool or room temperature water is most quickly and easily absorbed. Ice water will give a traumatized person stomach cramps. Stimulants like caffeine, or sugared, carbonated, or alcoholic beverages are not helpful.

Get the person moving. Walking, doing a simple task, or any other kind of exercise will be beneficial. This helps various body systems back to normal.

Allow the person to cry and vent. Do not hand someone Kleenex. This stops the flow of tears. Rather, have Kleenex nearby and let them reach for it when they are ready.

Encourage the person to talk while you listen. Just talking, even if it is not logical, is helpful for sorting and making sense of the occurrence. Avoid making judgments or giving advice. Just listen and be present. Don't use clich�s, or try to point out positive aspects of a tragedy. This diminishes the impacts of the reactions the person is experiencing, and is not helpful.

If someone is suicidal, or wants to hurt themselves or others, it is imperative to access professional assistance immediately. Call 911.


After sexual assault
If you do not have visible physical injuries from the assault, friends and family may think you are okay. Many people do not understand the extent of trauma endured by rape and sexual assault victims. Your body may look fine, but you still need time for emotional and spiritual healing. As time passes, you may have a variety of feelings, thoughts, and reactions to what has happened--most rape and sexual assault victims do. At times, you may feel guilty about what happened, even though you did nothing wrong. You may feel shocked that something so terrible could have happened to you, and sometimes you may even pretend or deny that it happened at all. You may feel embarrassed that you are a victim of rape or sexual assault, and you may worry that people you do not want to know will find out what happened.

You may have nightmares or flashbacks about the assault or rape. Certain sounds, smells, or other sensory experiences may trigger these feelings and fears. You may be afraid of being alone, or you may fear being in crowds. You also may fear that the offender may have infected you with a sexually transmitted disease, such as HIV/AIDS, or that you may become pregnant.

Whatever your reactions or fears may be, support and help are available for you. The Pima County Attorney's Victim Services Division will assist you, regardless of whether you decide to report the assault to the police. You may experience changes in your eating and sleeping patterns.

Arizona has a crime victim compensation program that can assist you with ongoing medical and counseling expenses and other expenses related to the assault.


For victims of stalking
Remember, as a stalking victim, you are not alone. Do not lose hope. The support network in Pima County includes victim advocacy, counseling services, and support groups. Trained victim advocates can provide vital information and a full range of support services, such as assistance through the criminal justice process and help finding out about your rights as a stalking victim. In Arizona, stalking is a felony per state law A.R.S 13-2923. Harassment may also be charged.

You may be able to obtain an injunction against harassment, or an order of protection through the clerk of the court. These are court orders signed by a judge telling the stalker to stay away from you and not to have contact with you in person or by phone. It is not necessary for a civil or criminal domestic violence case to be filed for these orders to be issued. Arizona state laws authorize law enforcement to make an arrest for violation of such an order. Victim advocates can tell you how the process works in Pima County.
Arizona has a crime victim compensation program that may reimburse victims for certain out-of-pocket expenses, including medical expenses, lost wages, and other financial needs considered reasonable.


After Suicide
Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem. Your loved one probably wasn't seeking death so much as a way to end his or her unbearable pain. The person who commits suicide puts his or her psychological skeleton in the survivor's emotional closet. It can be a heavy burden.

Someone close to you has died. Your grief is intensified because the death was a suicide. The healing process is painful and often seems unnaturally slow. Understanding your emotions, as well as learning something about suicide in general, may ease your grief.
Click here for more information

Survivors of Suicide Support Groups
Offers support for friends and family of a completed suicide. The group meets twice each month. For more information call 861-6632 or visit http://www.sostucson.org


After an assault
After A Robbery
If you are a survivor of a D.U.I.
How to help someone in crisis
After sexual assault
For victims of stalking
After Suicide
.
Important phone numbers

32 N. Stone Avenue, Tucson, Arizona 85701